Authentic Moments in an Age of Illusion

At the start, I resisted facebook. Online, all-the-time exposure? No thanks. These days, I include social media as a part of my life. Keyword? Part.

I can’t help, but roll my eyes at the perfectly polished posers and motivational posts from spiritual strangers that I see in my news feed. And if I’m perfectly honest, I’ve even posted an image or three in pursuit of likes. What drives us to seek out such validation? For me, it’s important to regularly search for balance between my human and virtual reality. Falling into the rabbit-hole where social media dictates my worth and dilutes my being is the NO ZONE.

Don’t get me wrong, social media is awesome, but with great power comes great responsibility (oh yeah, I just said that – muhaha!). Our human experiences are easily bruised by our virtual behaviour, so it’s important to preserve the special moments that bring character to our being and add value to our lives. For example, when you travelled to see the Northern Lights, were you paralysed by it’s beauty, unable to move your gaze? Or did you snap a quick pic and spend the rest of the time screening for the most flattering filter? These are the moments I protect. How sad it is when we render ourselves to be the spectators of our own lives. I revel in these moments before I reveal them.

Relationships are equally vulnerable to virtual violation. It may seem strange, but you know that feeling when you just click with someone? Whether you have a mutual interest or attraction, it doesn’t happen everyday. Online or offline, it feels like a series of incredible discoveries as you learn more and more. It’s an incredible sensation at risk of disruption from the volume of ‘digital dirt’ that’s accumulating on each and every one of us. Meaningful relationships gain dimension over time and not all are equal. With this in mind, I also make an effort to temper the way I share information online. Broadcasting messages to my forever friend just like the five-minute friend is not my style. This kind of behaviour cheapens the overall exchange and leaves no room for intimacy.

In the end, I try my best to stay true to my moments by actually being in them and acknowledging the importance of those involved. It requires a bit of attention, but I like taking steps to stay away from this social brand of brinkmanship where friend counts are valued over their corpus.

Leave a Reply

