Good Morning

Lift left breast. Wash and rinse with soap and water.
Lift right breast. Wash and rinse with soap and water.

Naked, I stand before my Nani wondering what an instruction manual for her might include? Staring at me with her sleepy eyes, I wonder what she thinks of me? She steadies her stance by clutching my shoulders as a steady stream of water beats against our bodies.

She tells me to adjust the water temperature.
She orders me to pour water on her back.
She insists that I assist her out when she’s done.

Seated. Dried. Powdered. And dressed. She requests a dab of oil, a comb and a rubbish bin. She massages the oil into her hair, combs it sleekly against her head and bins a handful of loose strands caught in the comb.

This is not the day she is fighting and pushing me in the shower.
Today, she knows where she is.

This is not the day she insists on wearing yesterday’s dirty cloths, soiled in food and urine. Today, she knows it’s a new day.

This is not the day she pleads for a few more moments of sleep over a shower.
Today, she’s eager to sip her morning tea.

Today is a good morning

5 responses to “Good Morning

      • Aw, I love it when I encounter people who aren’t frightened by my obnoxious and often difficult to detect brand of charm. Thank you kindly lady. However, it should be noted that anyone who can make it snow on her blog wins :).

        Not sure how I stumbled upon your blog, but I love keeping up with you here and on twitter too! I was never so clever when I was your age…

Leave a Reply

