Did I Say That?

People don’t always tell the truth, now do they? And thank goodness!

You know what I’m talking about… How are you? Good Morning? And of course, It’s not you, it’s me! These are the socially accepted lies that we all know and love. However, when it comes to travel writing, I really wish people would cut the crap.

In travel writing, the pressure to dilute ones views is extremely high. And why wouldn’t it be? Offending a country and it’s people after you visit is the last thing you want to do. I lament all the razor-sharp observations being translated into bland and predictable commentary. Shame.

BelgiumFires
I can’t help but think that this stifling pressure to produce flattering portrayals of every destination ultimately does no favours for anyone. It’s simply not possible for everyone to like everything. Ever.

Maybe I’m just an angry little person, but what I find offensive is writing to flatter rather than report fact. Although criticisms can be damaging, there must be a way for writers to communicate their personal views and experiences in a way that is honest and respectful.

Plus, I encourage readers to read responsibly. By this, I mean consider the perspective of the author. For example, if the piece is by me, you can expect to more attention to food and wine than sports and beer. Variables like age, interests and background can all impact our travel encounters and they are important to note. So when I walk into a sports-crazed city and start questioning its very existence, consider the source.

Thoughtfully  and truthfully expressing reasons why one may not personally favour a destination is not absolute damnation. Instead, it should be a simple expression of personal, one-off travel experiences. Experiences and personal views that have the potential to serve as great travel resources for people who have interests that just happen to align with the travel writer.

So what horrendous trip spurred this blog post? Oh no, not me…
I love every city, country & person I’ve ever encountered.
Honest ;).
2 responses to “Did I Say That?

  1. Wow, I feel like I’m on the journey with you!!!

    Thanks for reaching out. I identify with a lot of your tales, especially the food revolution bit. Looking forward to reading more 🙂

Leave a Reply

